Wild Blue Official Blog

November 9, 2006

A long long way to go.

Filed under: Writers Blog — Kevin Markwick @ 9:53 am

This is not only the first post on this blog, it is also my first post on any blog of any kind. My name is Kevin Markwick and I am the screenwriter and producer of a movie we hope to put in to production soon.

This will be my second film as a co producer and my first as sole writer. As I write this I am in Los Angeles having come here to finish the latest draft of the script and hang around the AFM in Santa Monica.

One of the most depressing places on Earth for an aspiring independent film maker, the AFM is a huge meat market forfilms from around the world all vying for the attention of buyers who can make or break your delicate financial forecasts and dreams of world domination. The majority of films on offer here are very low budget horror or derivative romantic comedies. I kid you not when I say that some of the most entertaining titles offered for sale have included both Snakes on a Train and Killer Bees on a Plane. My personal favourite, however,  has to be Oy Vey, My Son is Gay! Most of these films will never see the light of day outside of limited DVD releases or late night television.

Surprisingly though many people make a good living form this kind of cinematic flotsam and jetsam. Which brings me to the punchline. Our own modest effort Neil’s Party, and my first film as a producer and co writer,  has actually done very well in this strange twilight zone. We have seen the film released on DVD in North America and in Australia, we have also just closed a deal for a not insubstantial sum of money that will see the film released on home video in the UK, France, Benelux and Brazil. The film was cheap enough to make that one or two more deals like that and we will have covered the cost of making the film.

A miracle frankly. All of which brings me to Wild Blue. The hope is that we can move to the next level in terms of production budget and produce something to be really proud of.

The pitch: A shy, plump girl from Crawley with zero self esteem, dreams of being an air hostess.

That’s all you’re going to get for the time being, needless to say it is a little more complicated than that.

So the plan is to keep a journal of the struggle to get Wild Blue to the screen. When I return to London I will be setting up meetings in an attempt to bag the director that I want. For the moment she will be known as Ms X. There are several other important players in the upcoming drama such as my co producers, but I will refrain form exposing them until I have at least had the decency to mention I am going to write about them in this journal.

My plan is that the money chases the talent. So get some talent on board.

So, to whoever is out there, welcome to the pain and trauma that is making movies in the UK. Or anywhere for that matter. 

 Kev.

P.S. Why does the spell check on this thing not recognise the word blog. Bizzare. 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

